top of page

[BNT Interview] Firmness inside the tenderness, Song Seunghyun


[Interview] Firmness inside the tenderness, Song Seunghyun

Im Jaeho Reporter | 2022-09-27


It's not easy to go back to the beginning and start something again. Furthermore, when you do not have a lot of experience, it can feel even more difficult task/work.


Actor Song Seunghyun, who was the guitarist of the band FTISLAND, went through the idol life and after he left the team he turned into an actor, and has just been discharged from military for a year. He looked very calm and quiet.


He was happy and nervous as he gets to share how he has been doing with fans in an official schedule. From now on, ler's meet him in his interview where you can feel his sincerity in each and every of his words.


Q. Your thoughts on today's photoshoot is


“Come to think of it, I did not have a chance to talk about myself after leaving the team and got discharge from the military. I was only able to share my recent updates through SNS, and it's so nice to be able to do a photoshoot and interview like this”


Q. What have you been up to


“When I was an idol I always lived my life busily, but as I turned into an actor, the preparation period are longer and when I am not filming any work I have a lot of time to rest too. I liked it at first but as time passesI felt a little impatient. And also, as my body was adjusted to the busy schedules, I kind of hoped that I would get that busy (laughs). Even now, I think I'm getting used to (the current life)”


Q. You turned from FTISLAND's guitarist to an actor. How do you feel


“Before I went to the military, I left the team and enlisted, so I had a lot of thoughts when I was in the military. I have no regrets when I chose to be an actor starting in my 30s”


Q. Is there any difficulty you faced after you turned into an actor


“If you were a member of the team, you could be doing other individual activities and then do team activities again. But that's not it, so I should go around my activities with responsibility on my own. Rather than being told 'You are a guitarist in the team but your acting is not too bad too~' I feel that just me myself as an actor I have to act really well. I am really working hard”


Q. If there is any character that you would like to be casted or act in the future


“I want to try acting in the noir genre or as a psychopath character”


Q. What's the biggest difference that you find with a singer after you have turned to an actor


“I'm relaxed. Those who are active as singers will know this very well but there is almost no time for myself. Especially for idol groups there's really no time. From my debut to my 5th year there is really no personal time. It was my first time trying to rest during Christmas after I discharged from the military. I didn't know what to do because it was my first time spending Christmas resting, so I just rested at home. I have no members and my family had other plans so I just rested alone. When I was in the group, we were always at festivals or award ceremonies”


Q. I don't think it was easy to make a decision when you first decided to change to an actor. Is there any special story or reason behind it


“I just wanted to focus on acting. When I was in the band, I did my best without any regrets. I think that's why I was able to make a firm decision when I decided to leave. And I was thankful that my members really respected (my decision). In fact, there were many people around me who asked why do I insisted on leaving. But it's now or never, if it's any later it will not work out with this resolution I quitted”


Q. If there are any actors who you must try to work together in the future


“There's really a lot. If I really have to pick, Lee Byunghun, Hwang Jungmin seonbaenims. Any seonbaenims are good as long as I can learn from them”


Q. If there are any movies or dramas that you will keep watching repeatedly or any works that you really like


“I really liked ’Inception’. I like serious movies. I like movies that have a lot to think about and are creative. I watch a lot of movies rather than dramas”


Q. Is there any works or dramas that you enjoyed recently


“Recently, I have been trying to watch various movies, so I watched a lot of independent movies. I watched so many movies that I can't think of the title. I usually watch movies from day to night if I don't go out”


Q. What's the most memorable advice that you have received from other seonbae actors


“These days, seniors find it difficult to give advice because they are afraid of looking more like "kkondae*" (laughs). So when I start the conversation these days 'I heard you're a kkondae if you do this these days?’ I will say so and start it (laughs). Actually, rather than giving advice, it is fun to listen to things like experience that they have experienced over time” *kkondae = condescending older person


Q. Your role model is


“Ryu Seungbum seonbaenim who acts like he is free to fly, and also Jo Jungsuk seonbaenum is very good. They are my role model (laughs)”


Q. Do you have any actors or celebrities that you are close with


“When I was younger and had a lot of schedules I had many close friends. But now we can't contact each other often as we are busy living our own lives (laughs). There are still many celebrities who I keep in touch with but I don't think there are many who I'm really close with. I don't want to receive help from someone's acquaintance. It's not easy to keep in contact with this kind of thoughts”


Q. Is there any actors who you want to get closer with


“I really want to get close with Ryu Seungbum seonbaenim. Jo Jungsuk seonbaenum seems interesting too I want to meet him”


Q. Words for the fans who have been supporting you


“First of all, I wanted to tell them sorry. I had a fan meeting in Japan once, and I had a reason to go as I was filming a web drama. Although it was nice to have a reason to greet the fans in Japan but, I thought it would have been better if I am able to greet our Korean fans first. First of all, I think it's a relief that I was able to express my apology like this, and I wanted to say thank you very much for waiting for a better opportunity (to meet)”


Q. How do you want the public to remember Song Seunghyun


“I have done a few works in the past but even so I am a rookie actor. In fact, there are times when I get tired. Now it's just the beginning. I don't think it is time for me to feel relaxed. I think I need to overcome this to grow, and I think I should overcome it well and work hard on mental and self-management. Although appearance is important but I really want to hear 'You're good at acting, You fit this role really well'.”



Comments


Follow Me
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page