top of page

200111 Lee Jaejin's Dinner Show without Dinner - Talking Translations

JJ: Hello everyone. I didn't know it will be this close (with you guys).

Song 1: I Confess

/fans cheers/

JJ: Why am I feeling embarassed? kekeke

JJ: Aigoo. Hello everyone. I am FTISLAND's bass and vocal and soon I will be XX platoon's soldier Lee Jaejin. Nice to meet you! Can I take a seat too?

Fans: Nehhhhhh (Yes)

JJ: You said I can't?!

Fans: No...

JJ: Thank you /cutely/

/staff brought in wine glasses with red liquid in it/

JJ: What is this? /takes a sip/ grape juice. Okay. We kept meeting in some way and suddenly did not meet for a period of time and now we are finally meeting again. And we always did a lot of concerts in Japan so I felt that the Korean fans might be a little upset so I worked hard in preparing for this FM. Today I told you to dress up as the cool and the pretty. /scanning the audience and spots some weird outfits/ What is that?! What did you wear? Is that Teletubbies?! There's even super mario~ Woah, I heard the rumour that there's people who wore Hanbok (traditonal korean outfit) here too? /fans raises their hands/ Omo!

JJ: Everyone since the new year is here, I am actually curious on what you guy have been doing during the period when we were away. Though that's that but today I would like to speak more about myself. Your stories, please share them with me on SNS and I will try to read and verify them in the future.

JJ: Some time ago. There's a story that I must share. Not long ago, the friend who played guitar, Song Seunghyun, has left the team. He has his own situation, and his own dreams and many things that overlapped together so in the end Seunghyunnie chose to go on such a path. Seunghyun has been in pain/hurt for a long period of time. It's not because something wrong happened in the midst of wanting to protect the name of FTISLAND and PRIMADONNA. We felt sorry as members and as hyungs to be presenting this news to fans as such a surprise, this friend's story and words should have came out first. Since everything got mixed up and the news went out as if he got chased out, I felt really upset about it too. Everyone too, if you just leave it as it is. Just like how you will not be able to see me for the next one and a half year. Just take it as you will be sending him off for a short while. As we will still be continuing (as FTISLAND), if some day he feels like re-joining back, we will make sure that he will be able to come back to us. So we will take it as our responsibility to guard/protect FTISLAND.

JJ: Today it is a Dinner Show without Dinner right? Firstly, I'm REALLY sorry that there is no Dinner. If I would really want to do it till that extend, there will be a big hole in my pocket. So, I have wanted to do the concept coolly with the Dinner Show feel/ambience, but the company isn't really helping. But the staff who managed to get this venue and event running, they have really worked hard. Those people up there (the management?), tried to get them to invest in this a little but wells......

JJ: Aigoo.. My friends came. You saw them, everyone?

Fans: Nehhhhhh (Yes)

JJ: Ah.. Okay I understand. hehe

JJ: Just now, the support that fans prepared, like rice and sorts. I had them before I came up. You know the water, the ones with my face pasted on it.

Fan raised her hand to say she was the one who prepared it.

JJ: So it was you? Did you do it alone? Alright. Thank you. (and then he made a joke about the water brand lol)

JJ: Actually today, as it is an official schedule and after meeting everyone today, I will slowly cut my hair bit by bit, while also trying different hairstyles for fun. I am already thinking of what kind of hair I should do when I come back. Although I haven't even enlist, I am already thinking about the days when I am out. I'm trying to give off a forward looking vibe.

JJ: Our Minhwan-ie, you guys know how he is doing these days right? As he will appear on broadcast, so I won't talk about him here. And our Lee Hongki-ssi is now turning very much into a muscle pig in the training centre. He gained a lot of weight but he gained the same amount of muscles too. I was kinda worried too. Thinking it will not be good if he comes out in that state. We still have to keep our good looks. I told him as we haven't been maintaining (looks & body) for a long time, it will be good if we can come back handsomely in front of our fans. And I got cursed by him. He told me to just take care of myself. So my conclusion is that he has been doing well.

JJ: I came back (to Korea) yesterday. Yesterday evening. What i find a pity is that, in Japan, I have recorded songs in Japanese. I would also like to record those songs in Korean too but I really do not have time for that. Those songs, in a way, was prepared in a rush. Originally at this fan meeting.. I have released my solo album right? Everyone, have you listened to it? I really wanted to write those songs in Korean and sing it for you but the time.... there's not much time left. And I do not have much spare time when I came back from Japan so I can't do it. When I am back (from army), I am thinking to at least for once, be it as a recording or as part of a Live, to sing it in front of you guys. So when I am back, I will try my best to sing the songs to you in Korean. It will be good if you can give me some applause here.

Fans: /claps/

JJ: That's enough that's enough. You are touched right? kekekeke

JJ: Today actually, it feels weird when I came out this morning. There's a lot of presents that you guys sent at home, and among them, about 20% is military use products. Thanks to that, I think I can have a good/well prepared military life and return. Going in there, we are intending to change a lot of things, all members think the same way. Even for our health. We have been active in the industry for 13 years, our body is really no joke. It feels like we are already ajusshis. We would like to go there, eat well and exercise well and with the routine like life, get healthier and next time when we discharge and do our concerts or activities, there will be nothing that can hinder us from running till the end. I would really like to enjoy my time there and I even bought books. Though there are friends who told me that (books) won't be of much help. Like my friend Jungwon-ie over there. But going there, I would really want to maximise learning and knowledge and thinking on many things before I discharge. So that I can promise you I will become a more cool human after discharge. Right, please give me some applause.

Fans: /claps/

JJ: Isn't it too much that I have to request it from you every time?

JJ: I feel glad actually, everyone. Some members did not even have the chance to say good bye and have to leave like that. But I get to meet everyone in Japan and in Korea. Later I'm not sure if you will tell me this, but it will be good if you can tell me to "go and be back well". It is really great that I have such an opportunity to receive such good energy from everyone before I go. I will be very thankful about that. Thank you.

Fans: /claps/

JJ: That's it! It should have been this way!

JJ: I am done with my sharing/talk about how we have been recently. Now it seems to be the time for us to spend some enjoyable moments. The next corner that we have to do, let me give you some instructions. You know those flashing of images and then "BA-BBAM!" is too tacky. So I will so it smoothly like this, okay we are gonna do a game now. Since it is a fan meeting, we should spend in enjoyably. So let's start this corner. The title of this corner is "Win Lee Jaejin" One Two Three. What we gonna do? Everyone do you know the thing I always do after a concert? Screaming without a mic. It's not to mimic that but you know I always shouted loudly without a mic right? Right here, if you think you can scream louder than Lee Jaejin.....

Fans: MEEEEEE!! MEEEEE!!

JJ: So we will pick three from the audience and do a decibel test with me. So, what will they get if they win? Macarons. I saw the macarons just now. Everyone did you see it? It is so cute. The one with my face, please eat it quickly though. That is really my dark history. Back then, I have no idea why I will just do what the company wants me to do. Back then I thought it was really pretty. If I think carefully, the person with the most dark history in FTISLAND seems to be me. I have to acknowledge that too. Anyways, let's try the game. If you really have confidence in it please raise your hands.

(I'm gonna omit the game portion as there's too much screaming everywhere. my ear hurts.)

GAME 1: WIN LEE JAEJIN

Jaejin picked 3 fans up on stage to play the game based on how loud they can scream from their seat. Then Jaejin will start first screaming into the decibel tester. As long as fans can win his score, they will be considered a winner. All 4 of them have the same score (122) and there was a rematch(?), but the machine seems to be faulty and in the end the winner went to the only male fan on stage.

The winner got a bouquet of macarons from Jaejin. He kinda kneeled down to give it to the winner, which he find it weird since it is his first time presenting a bouquet to a guy. Then Jaejin is questioning if they are only giving one person the bouquet and he felt sorry for the other two fans who did not manage to get anything.

JJ: Everyone, this Lee Jaejin Dinner Show without Dinner seems to be very disorganised right? This is the concept. It's not because we can't do it (plan well) but I think by doing it like this, we can make adjustments here and there and we will be able to talk more too. I was not intending to do this kind (game) of corner. Anyways, we have another (game) corner.

JJ: This is the description text. During Fan meetings, we showed many sides of us enjoying ourselves on stage. So instead of just showing you that, I hope you guys can help me with it. So that it will be enjoyable for everyone. This is what is written. This time, it's a 4 vs 4 relay game. But, in both teams, I will be in it. That means I will be picking three for each team right? So, I will use the selector box to pick. Since there will be two teams, I will pick 6 people and then we will play games together.

(As long as you match the keywords in the selector, you will be selected to play the relay game.)

Selector includes: Wearing brown scarf

Wearing snowflake shaped accessory

Yellow watch strap

(Total of 8 ~ 9 people went up the stage and Jaejin told them to play rock, scissors, paper to eliminate till there's only 6 people for the game. Fans are questioning if this way is doable, and Jaejin said just to try and we will work something out if it doesn't work.)

GAME 2: 4 vs 4 RELAY

Jaejin picked 6 fans to split into 2 teams of 4 with him. They will be playing a total of 4 mini games and the team who used the shortest time to complete the 4 mini games will win.

Mini Game 1:

flip the cup

Mini Game 2:

remove the paper & stack the cups

Mini Game 3:

rolling ball into a cup

(1m distance)

Mini Game 4:

throw a straw into the cup

Both teams had the same score of 2min 24sec.

JJ: They had the same score? If that's the case....

Fan: Show off their special skill

JJ: Special skills? You guys aren't here to see me right? Okay.. Do it (special skills). I will sit down and watch.

The way to find a winner?

Each team send a representative, use the table tennis ball and bounce it off the table, into the cup. The team who uses the least number of tries to get the ball into the cup wins!

The winning team also received a bouquet of macaron each.

JJ: This is why we don't really do game during fan meetings. It feels like only I find that it's fun. I'm curious if you guys finds it fun too? Really? Maybe next time, we will pick those who are really super athletic among the fans and do a session like the olympics. If we don't do it like this, it seems like it won't be fun.

JJ: Okay everyone. I'm not sure if you will feel that it's a pity but I feel that it's a pity that time has passed so fast. So I have prepared some presents. There's a total of 17 polaroids that are pasted under your seats on the left side randomly. Please search for it well. I'm not lying, it is really pasted there. Anyone found it? Director! What is going on? You said they were pasted there? It's at the bottom, below your butt. You found it? There's a total of 17. Everyone, please find it again later. Maybe it will appear a while later. (The polaroids weren't easy to locate and many of us were unable to find it. The staff did inform us on the seats that has the polaroids pasted after the FM.)

JJ: Please find it again later. Now we... (fans are still trying to search for the polaroids & not listening to him) Look.. look at me... YAHHHHHHHH!! You! Till the end you are still not looking at me.. You! Okay now we have to move on~ Okay everyone. Actually today, for songs wise, I have only prepared 4 songs. I originally wanted to do more, but in the end decide with 4 songs. But before that, I would like to talk more with you guys. As compared to a normal fan meeting, I would like to chat more with you guys. Like a talk concert. So, I have prepared something.

JJ: I have picked some photos, and when you look at the photos, if you have questions about them, please raise your hands while seated and I will answer your questions. The photos that appear, there might be stories from our dormitories life, or some stories that we didn't share before but I would like to tell you now. The previous time I had did this in one of the Japan fan meeting, and the stories that we usually did not share came out while I was looking at the photos. So, I have prepared this time so that the stories that was not shared could be shared. Could you please show us the photos?

[Photo 1]

JJ: This is me. I know it's me because it's me. I posed like this /and he showed us the same pose/

JJ: During this time.... I have nothing to share. Let's go to the next photo.

[Photo 2]

JJ: Ah.. This period. Do you know when is this? That's right that's right. This was during the world tour that doesn't seems like a world tour. This should be either Mexico or Chile. During that time, in FTISLAND, there was this famous tour. Do you know that? Called the Jonghoon Tour. Do you know that? I need to say that so that I can continue with the story about the photo. Anyways.. As compared to the other members who do not want to go anywhere when they are out of Korea, hyung really go around (exploring) very well. He even went to the museum and at some point of time, that looked really fun. So I went around with him.

JJ: As I was following him around, the flowers that we passed by looked really pretty. He told me to hold one up and he will take a photo for me. That period of time was when we were overflowing with passion for our dreams. In a way, we were at places that we haven't been to before and holding concerts. It was the small little things. Like... In Korea, we usually have concerts at 5pm, 6pm or 7pm and we know that even with that 30mins of difference, we know that at that certain time, we will be able to perform better (with better body & vocal conditions). Or at this time, our bodies will feel more relaxed. These are the small complaints that we have. During that time, we have to be constantly adjusting to time differences. We were in the situation where we have to do the concerts even if our bodies aren't really in the right conditions. At first we feel like we should just accept this and continue with the concerts. This is not an excuse but it was during this tour that we felt that we have lived hard enough that it's okay to die tomorrow.

JJ: Everyone, I am not sure if you remember this. But back then, I did really a lot of head banging on stage. This was because I wanted to show more to you guys. I think it started in Russia. I wanted to show you that this is how cool it is and ROCK should be done this way. So I started shaking (head banging) but from a certain point onwards, I am addicted to how it feels. The dizziness that comes after shaking my head too violently. So it kind of became a thing where I play the bass and even if it flows to the next song, this helps me to focus better. You guys probably won't understand this as you guys did not experience it before. You are always just showing us support by looking at us performing. But that was then where we feel like showing you the best side of us and showing you guys all that we've got. Now we really love it a lot and after some time time, we realised that being able to do all those is because of our fans. So we got even more thankful and we will continue as a band till the end. But there will be one exception. If Lee Hongki decides to run away then we will not be able to do it. But then, that hyung is like a baby or maybe he is like a teenage boy or maybe it's because he just doesn't listen, he is such a great person. We will not bring you through any more sad or difficult stories and we will become a team that will continue to do well.

[Photo 3]

JJ: Ah this one~ I tied my hair like this (apple head), that place is Japan. In Japan, there's really a lot of practice rooms. You know? It's a small room where there will be a drum set and amplifier, and we will bring our instruments and get the jacks - the lines for the instruments - they will give us five of that and also the mic stands. We will receive those and practice. That was during the indie days. Back then, Hongki hyung got really homesick. I think the reason behind that was just because we do not have any money. We really do not have any money back then and the company also do not have money. Back then, FNC and there was this company called AI Entertainment, and the CEO XX noona, she was the person who supported our dream as a band back then, though we have parted now. That time, she was the one who told us to go there and CEO Han Seongho was like "okay go there and learn well before coming back". That was really a very daring decision back then. Without that period of time, we will not be able to stand in front of you right now and enjoy performing like this.

JJ: This is because, I know myself well. Just like how everyone will know yourself the best. For me, if I am not prepared and I do not have the confidence to do well, I will feel really embarrassed and really hate to do it. But recently, I do not feel that way. I'm not trying to say that I am doing very well right now, but it is because we survived through those times, that is why we are able to enjoy what we have now. Back then, it was ridiculous what we went to those clubs where there isn't even more than 100 people in the audience, but there's like 15 teams waiting and that time we had a mini album with about 6 tracks. With those 6 songs, in a day, i'm not even joking but we have to practice for 14 hours. And back then we were really skinny. That time, the company has no money and we have no money too. Every time we will go to the convenience store and buy ramyeon & bacon to eat. Dinner will be some food bought by the company CEO. So we will have just two meals like that daily and practiced.

JJ: And one day Hongki hyung can't take it any more and he was totally furious. He said he wants to leave, he is so tired from all these. So originally we were supposed to stay there for about 6 - 8 months but we went back after 4 months. When we went back, he was always seen with his laptop and was downloading/playing and kept going "Ohhhh~" like that. From what I see, it was because back then we are not good with the language (Japanese) and we do not have any money, so he felt really suffocated. But those times, to us it was a really precious time. And it was because of those times, that is why we are able to stand in front of you guys properly like this.

JJ: That time, we had 2 bicycles. One was a gift and the other was rented by our CEO. We took that and decided to look around Japan. Back then, where we lived was far away from Harajuku. But you know there's people who are doing cosplay in Harajuku? So we decided to go there and take a look. So it took like about 20mins to get there and then come back. Members will share their thoughts about what's there and the next member will set off (to Harajuku) to see it. That is the kind of thing we did back then. There was also a park nearby and we will just head there and watch the kids playing. So that was how we practiced hard back then. Thanks to that, after the indie days, we were able to have our major debut. It was like a time for us to level up and become artists who are able to have fun and enjoy on stage.

JJ: Why did I say this? This is because to us, the army will also be such a time for us to level up. This is for us to have some time to do some thinking and we have to go and come back to be an even cooler artist. And with this kind of concept, I felt that even if we go, it will not be too sad. This was not supposed to be such a serious story though~

Fan: Who tied your hair back then?

JJ: I did it myself. That time, the side hair and the hair at the back has to look a certain way. This is because, back then... Ah.. Even till now there's such a saying. Us and Super Junior. Big Bang has a different style. But this kind of hair cut, do you know where it originated from? It started from Japan. There is this person called YamaP. You know him right? The korean stylists will always have his photo and request the salons to do our hair like that. That is why our hairs are like that, we do not cut our hair and let it grow long. Back then, that was a really cool look. Back then, that was the hair that gave us a lot of confidence to look good. And after that, one of the higher up in our company left and set up his own agency. He made a group whose name every one will know, so I'm not gonna tell you but it is a boy group. That person took our photos and YamaP's photo and asked the salons to make their hair like ours. And they really did that. Though it (the hair) seems really embarrassing now, but we did well back then. So I wanted to share it.

[Photo 4]

JJ: PASS!

[Photo 5]

JJ: What is this? Please pass this too. I have nothing to say.

[Photo 6]

JJ: This was in Mexico and it will be same as the story I shared just now. Please pass it.

[Photo 7]

JJ: Ah this one. It's Madly?

Fans: Severely?

JJ: From what I see, it seems like a photo taken when I went to see Seunghyun's musical. When you guys say like this, it feels like my memory is wrong~

JJ: From what I can remember, it seems to be during Seunghyun's musical Three Musketeers. The sword that he was using was so cool that I took it and played for quite a while. This was my face when I got tired from playing.

JJ: What? It suddenly seems like it wasn't during that time!

Fans: It's not!

JJ: Then when is it?

Fans: During Severely era...

JJ: It was during Severely? What did I do back then?

Fans: Being handsome

JJ: Being handsome~~ Okay let's pass this. I can't really remember it.

[Photo 8]

JJ: This one was in Japan. During one of the rock festival. There was this rock festival called Summer Sonic.This was a time that was filled with dream and hope. You can see that I am wearing a sunglass that doesn't suit me. Hongki hyung wore sunglasses and was able to read the lyrics on the prompter. But for me, the glasses kept falling off my nose and I still have to sing in that state. It was so difficult for me to read the lyrics. I was really envious of that hyung. So that time I told him I wore the sunglasses and tried to read the prompter but can't and he said he just memorised the lyrics and wore the sunglasses (without reading the prompter). I can only say that Hongki hyung is really a smart person.

JJ: That was during Summer Sonic and back then, we found out something really shocking for us. There was place where all performing artists gathered. It was like a village. That place was really well made. In this place, there's a huge lobby and also canteen, there's playstation and even a lot of alcohol like beer and hard liquor. We got really excited and was like, let's eat/drink! And then while we are at it, we saw those artists that we've seen on youtube passed by. By seeing them, we felt that we were really lucky that we manage to go up the stage (at Summer Sonic). This stage was one that felt very meaningful and gave us a lot of strength. From then on, we felt that we must attend as many rock festivals as possible.

JJ: That was when we started attending many rock festivals. And especially appearing at Summer Sonic, we met many great artists too. And now, we have many friends in Japan that are in a band. Among those that attended with us and are doing very well now is the friends called ONE OK ROCK. Back then, we stood on the same stage. In rock festivals, they have different stages, the bigger stage, the medium stage and the smaller stage. There's quite a few kinds, and artists were performing on these stages at the same time. We were like the 4th item on that stage and ONE OK ROCK was the 3rd item. We met at that time and this affinity continued till now and we are still very close. That was the place where we started our friendship. These friends kept travelling to create music. They are kind of different from us as we have to release albums both in Korea and Japan. We also have to do concerts in both Korea and Japan. And then there's Asia tour and in between all these someone has to go do acting and I also had to do some acting. It's kind of hard for us to only focus on just one thing (band). There's things at stake for the company, we will need to earn a certain amount so that the company and us can get along well (hinting that they are only able to do what they want if they help the company earn?). As we are really busy, we got really envious of them. They can be in California for a few months just because they are preparing for an album. We were really envious that they got to do that. And from a certain point of time onwards, we felt that we should also grow as big as them. We will need to work hard in both Japan and Korea, even when the languages are different. Let's move on to the next photo.

[Photo 9]

JJ: That seems to be when I started doing the V sign like this. Everyone, do you know when I started doing the V sign? I did it like this since debut? Oh really? It's weird that I actually find V good for me.

JJ: Let's pass this because I don't like the hair.

[Photo 10]

JJ: WHAT IS THIS?! When did I do this? While looking at this, it looked like it was during the first album. That time, we went to Thailand. We went to Thailand and back then there was this huge shopping mall. It was like the largest shopping mall in South East Asia or something like that it was a really huge place and we were performing at the rooftop. When we got there and was waiting for our turn to perform, at the farrrrrr corner there was this very sophisticated lady standing there and watching us. After finding out, she was the daughter of this SEA largest shopping mall's owner. Moreover, though she is not from the royal family but she is somehow related to the royal family. Honestly, we acted like it's no big deal and was trying to play cool. But that person said she was our fan. And so, the person beside me started going "yah~ marry her marry her"

JJ: At that point, I've already known that she was someone of very big deal. But I feel, why should I? Why should I? I still have a long way to go! and I feel that money is not important at that point of time. Actually money is important. Without money you can't live. Anyway that was it.

JJ: And about two or three years later, we went back to Thailand again for a concert. That person is not there anymore. So we asked the staff/promoter who was with us, what happened to that lady? And we were told that she is now Super Junior Donghae hyung's fan so she went away to watch their concert. I felt really heartbroken. When a chance comes to you, you should have grabbed it. Back then, that was what I realised.

JJ: and back then, when we go to Thailand, with five members, we can't even finish 2 whole fried chicken. We ranged from about 51kg, 55kg to 57kg all of us. We can't even finish a bowl of rice back then. We were so skinny back then and our hair were long, and to be frank, we don't look very manly too. We looked either like babies or very pretty boys. The Thai promoters were very worried about us. If we kinda took a wrong turn and passed by the wrong place, we might be kidnapped. So we were like... Even during the days when we were cute and pretty, that might happen too~ That was the first time we had that thought~

[Photo 11]

JJ: NEXT PHOTO!! NEXT PHOTO!!!! NEXTTTTTTTTTT

[Photo 12]

Fans were making noise and Jaejin couldn't not understand what they were saying.

JJ: Everyone, please understand me a little. We will be parting for one and a half year. I would like to be remembered as a handsome and cool person as I go!

Fans continue to make noise.

JJ: What were you saying? To move on to the next photo? okay. please move on to the next photo.

[Photo 13]

JJ: When was this? Do you remember? Ah.. Was it in Japan? uh? In Korea? The Flatterer? Ahhhhhhh. Please move on.

[Photo 14]

JJ: What is this?

Fan: I can't see clearly!

JJ: I can't see it clearly too! What is this? Why am I so dark? I know I am tanned but I don't think I am THAT tanned. This is a picture of tanned Jaejin~ Please move on to the next photo.

[Photo 15]

JJ: This is out. Finally this photo is out. That one I was lifting my bass. That moment was the most cool, that was what everyone told me. It's not my own words but that's what people told me. At that time, it kinda feel a little weak. It looked like I was kinda drunk. I was thinking, even if I was head banging at the back, if there's people in front singing and playing the guitar, you guys will be looking at the people in front isn't it?

Fans: NOOOOO. We only look at you.

JJ: You only see me? You these liars~ I have never once, never once seen all of you only looked at me during a concert.

Fans: We did!

JJ: Really? Okay? Yay.. Anyway, while doing that, I felt more confident. It feels like I am playing really well, so I raised up my bass. At that point of time, it was not because I was going along with the feel that's why I had it raised up. It was just me showing off that "I can do well like this!!" and I raised the bass up. It was more of that kind of concept. If you see me doing that again during the next concert, please scream "It's cool" and that will give me more strength.

Fan: Are you not gonna do it (play the bass) today?

JJ: What did you say? You want me to play the bass today? Only with bass? Everyone.. For me... Ah.. No. I kinda broke the vow. To be frank, originally, if it's not with FTISLAND, I will not want to play the bass. Especially when Minari is not on the drums. There's a reason behind this. That's because, I am playing bass for FTISLAND and I am not just another bassist who plays well. I am the person who builds and leads the the pace/breath for our team. What I find a pity for the new bands who just started out is that they have a lot of fanciful skills and plays really well. They might be even cooler than us because they get to see and learn a lot. But for us, there was nothing for us to see and learn from. Youtube was not even working well back in our days. We just had to keep practicing and practicing as a team so that we can understand how should the sense of rhythm goes, how should we do this, how should we do that. That was the way we learnt back then. As compared, that is why we have our own colours when doing a concert because we have our own bond/chemistry. That was what I find a pity for the people who are not able to do that but they also have skills that we don't have. Anyway, that is why, for me, to play bass in front of everyone, just for the leisure of playing bass, I would really not wish to do that. Even if you guys really want to see it. There is no big meaning to it. Of course I can show you how I strum strum strum the bass on insta but I will just stop it here~ To be honest I really hate it. I want to play the bass when Minhwan-ie is on the drums and when it is songs with FTISLAND, I will want to play the bass. And that's also because I know I will be the coolest then, so even if I do it elsewhere, I know I won't feel as excited.

JJ: Actually, this is the last photo. You guys didn't even ask any questions and it was just me talking. I would like to receive questions from you, if you thought of any while looking through the photos just now. I want to chat more with you guys. Do you have anything that you are curious about?

Fan: Oppa, to be frank, did you start playing the bass to impress your girlfriend?

JJ: I don't know where you hear that from but I started playing bass in the band department since Middle School Year 1 because usually, band is the flower during festivals, everyone. It was really cool when you play it in front of everyone, so I started playing the bass. And there were also a lot of other reasons after that. If I only continued to play bass based on that one reason, I will not be what I am today. I will not be this professional and I will not be able to stand in front of everyone and play bass at a ticketed concert. I have also the times when I was really lacking but that was not my eventual intention. That was just the reason why I started playing the bass but it is not the reason which got me this far. Okay, that's it. Do you have another question?

Fan: What's your favourite song in FTISLAND songs?

JJ: My favourite song? For me, there's one for Korean song and one for Japanese song. The one that I could say I like the best, for Korean song, you guys might find it surprising, but it's Love Love Love. Surprisingly, I really like this song a lot. This song, how should I say it? It's weirdly just nice in every way. I have no idea why, but it is not very pop and it is also not very band-like. It's not very like this and not every like that. It was really like.. Ah, this kind of song, it will be good to do on broadcast. Even if we rearrange the song, the sound will come out well too and we can do it just nicely. But it is also not THAT easy to play. Everything is just nice. That is why I really like Love Love Love. And Seunghyunnie does the rap really well and handsomely. He did it like that /tries to imitate Seung/ and he is really like a genius. Even during I Hope too, he rapped like "kya kya kya" /imitates Seung again/ and even during practice he was playing around with that jokingly. He can really follow along well. That is why I really love the song Love Love Love.

JJ: and for Japanese, it will be the song Raining. The reason why I love that song a lot is because of the lyrics. Everyone did you try to read/understand the lyrics? Seems like many people did not read it. Why do I love this song a lot is because I wrote a lot of lyrics in Japanese. Even if I don't write it very well, I like to express this and that by writing. I think I wrote more lyrics in Japanese than in Korean. That is because, they use a lot of Chinese characters. and that was the first time I feel that the Japanese lyrics was written very well, it was Raining. Even then, it's not even other people's song. It's my own song and I am amazed by it. "WOW What is this?! It is really great" The expressions used in the lyrics. For example in Korea, lyrics will be like "The moment I met you, I knew that you were fated to be mine". There's many lyrics like this which are very direct and easy to listen/understand. There might be also many singers who does lyrics that are more in depth. But generally, the lyrics are like this. Which is why I do not usually listen to Korean songs. When you look at the charts, there's no songs where you need to think deeper to understand the lyrics. It's always so direct that you can understand on the first listen. Like who will be waiting at where for someone, there's many lyrics like this. Which is why when I first saw the lyrics of Raining, I was surprised because the expressions was very ambiguous, it was not the direct kind. But for me, receiving those lyrics that was really good was the first time so I really liked that song. End.

Fan: When do you feel the happiest as a FTISLAND member?

JJ: Hmm.. To speak plainly, it will be during the first half. Why is it? Because there is no parting. There might be Primadonnas who are older than me but it seems to be like that. As time passes, there will be things that you need to let go, and there will be things that you get to understand more. It seems like life is like this. Perhaps in the past you might feel like this is not right or that is not right but now when you look back, this seems right too and that seems right too. Definitely, Seunghyunnie pondered about a lot in between all these. I am not sure how to stop that but we were able to comfort each other a lot. Especially as a person who said that I want to protect FT in front of you guys, we really tried very hard. But at a certain point of time, that was not a decision that I can change. That is why we do not hate him for his decision, on the contrary, we were thankful. For not bearing more pain, for not enduring and just deciding to do what he wants to. For us, we have the confidence. We have the confidence to continue to do well. Coolly. And if at a certain point, that kid might want to do it with us again right? He might be thinking, what's this? Why do they continue to do so well? Why are they so cool and doing so well? At that point, he might think of coming back again right? We have that kind of thoughts. Hmm.. It seems to be like that. For now, there's too much that we need to understand and accept. There's things that are difficult and suffocating for him, it might be better for him this way. Though it might be difficult and sad too. And because that time there were not so much about this and that, so I felt that back then it was the best.

Fan: Let us know what songs do you find most interesting/excited to play during concerts.

JJ: The ones that is the most fun/excited? This is a little difficult. The song that I find the most fun?

Fan: Love Love Love

JJ: Too be honest, I was really excited during that song Love Love Love. (Jaejin trolling?) Anyway, the song that I feel most excited/fun is Freedom and I like The Night too. Why is it? They have the kind of rhythm that I like. How should I say? It goes "daraddadda ddaddaraddadda" like that repeatedly. And I always sink into it and kept chasing it during the concert. You don't know right? I understand, okay~ These are the songs that kinda to me, will allow me to check my condition for the day. During rehearsals, our ears are always covered and I have to follow the feel to proceed. With that, I will be able to know my condition for that day. If I feel very difficult to follow it or I have to push myself harder, that is kinda like my own manual. From this manual, I will know that I should play safe and will not be able to exert myself too much at the concert that day. And if that day I can follow along to it no matter what I do, then I will be even more excited that day. That is why Freedom is good and for The Night, it just matches my taste in the song, matches my taste in the way of playing (the bass) and matches my taste in the lyrics. That song is really good. End.

JJ: Is there still questions? I will answer one last question.

Fan: When you enlist, will you be arranging for a send off session like Hongki-oppa?

JJ: I have been thinking about this too.

Fan: Do it~

JJ: Why? Is doing it better? But then.. It is actually in my plans, to not sleep the night before. I'm gonna drink (alcohol) before going in. I have even bought alcohol from Japan for that night. Do you know what my friends who has went to the army tells me? They regretted not drinking that one extra mouth before enlisting. They have wasted that one last mouth. I don't want to enlist with regret like this. Or regretting not gathering my friends and play one last game at the PC cafe. Just that night... Although I am not exactly a good drinker, and my stamina is not as good as the old days, I just want to drink till my heart fill so that I can have a good night sleep. So that I can wake up the next day and prepare to leave. And also, if I am to do it (the gathering) how should I go about doing it? I don't really know. The company will upload an announcement? Should I get the company to do some work? Just fix the time and they will work out the rest on their own? Okay then let me ask about it after this (FM) ends. I will ask and tell them to leave a message somewhere, be it on the homepage or somewhere else.

JJ: Okay, I will be gone for a while. I don't think you can see it well, what should we do? (p.s. the projector screen at the venue is really bad, it is hard to see whatever content that is being projected.) Anyway, there will be a VCR. Just watch it for a while and I will be back.

<VCR TIME>

Song 2: 당신만이 (It's Only You) - original song by 이치현과 벗님들 Lee Chi Hyun and His Friends

JJ: The next song, although I don't really want to sing it but for the sake of Korean Culture, this song will express it well. Do you know it? I will now sing it.

Song 3: 이등병의 편지 (A Letter from a Private) - original song by 김광석 Kim Kwangseok

<Banner Event: *이제 진짜 군인 / 고마울 뿐인걸 사랑하게 해준 걸>

Now (이제 Ee-je) you are a real (진 (jin) 짜 (jja)) soldier / I'm just thankful for allowing me to love you

*word play on Jaejin's name & The blue words are lyrics from Nowhere.

JJ: Thank you. I'm just thankful for allowing me to love you. What's this? Now you are a real soldier. It's because I'm Lee Jaejin that's why you wrote that right? Hmm... Actually instead of such slogans, I would rather you tell me "Oppa please don't go~~". Now it seems like you guys are sending me off so well with things like "Now you are a real soldier". It's like telling me "Now, just go. It's nothing much" that kind of feeling. kekekeke

JJ: It feels kinda depressing right? After hearing such song. Actually, I don'y want it to be like that. So, it's just because the lyrics said you should write letters, and I will not forget the memories that we had. After looking at the lyrics, I wanted to sing the song. Somehow, I could have also said it in words, but I also wanted to tell you through the lyrics of the song. And the last song that I will sing, in a way because our hearts all got heavy, erm.... What about this? Before I continue with what I want to say, let's do a photo time first before we do the final wrap up. It's about time (to end the FM).

<Photo TIme>

JJ: Okay. The last song, you might not know it at all, but it is my caller ringtone. You will not know it, but it's my caller ringtone. Just now when I said that our hearts got heavy, it was a meaningful kind of heavy. It kind of have a deep meaning to it. In someway, FTISLAND and PRIMADONNA is destiny right?

Fans: ....... yes?.......

JJ: Seems like it's not it?

Fans: NOOOOO. We're sorry.

JJ: Okay. So what song am I singing? It's Destiny. It's called You Are My Destiny but, it's not the one by Lyn. Do you know what it is? The reason for choosing this as the last song is because, after singing A Letter from a Private, the ambience might be kind of depressing, so I want to have a change in emotions so I decided to do this song and wrap up. Everyone, you know this right? After the end of this FM, there will be a photo session and it's one to one.

Fans: Can we do it as a selca?

JJ: Cannot.

Fans: Why?

JJ: You guys will want to just look nice yourself and tell me to stand in front. All will be like that! And I can't stand that! I hate that. Just ask them (staff) to take it for us. You guys had your make up on right? I did make up too! This is fair!

Fans are arguing that they will not look nice in the photo using the back camera.

JJ: Ah.. You guys are pretty~

Fans gave some suggestion.

JJ: (checking with the staff) Will you be able to do that? Instead of using the back camera, use the front camera and take it as if it is a selca. (to Fans) They said it's possible. (We made Jaejin speechless LOL) You guys really tried all sorts of ways. Instead, promise me this. If the photos turn out shaky, there is no re-take. There will only be one chance to take the photo.

JJ: Let's go with the last song. I will need some preparation for the last song. Okay. I will not dance. The last song is, You Are My Destiny. Please listen to it.

Song 4: You Are My Destiny

JJ: Uh.. Thank you Thank you. Emmmm. I want to speak in English but it is not working. Anyway, after hearing the last song, you are not depressed already right? Though the song might sound a little sad, but if you listen to the lyrics well, you guys are of that kind of existence to me. When you go back home, instead of having some late night weird thoughts, please try to look up the lyrics. It's some simple English so anyone should be able to understand it. I can understand it too. So please look for it when you get home.

JJ: To me, everyone is of a huge meaning and a huge gift. To me, everyone including FTISLAND, the company and my friends are all of much importance but you guys are the ones that I am most thankful and are the most important people to me. This is because, we are just a band. We are all just normal human beings but you are the ones that make us shine bright. And you guys are the reason why we can sing on stage and perform at concerts. I will never forget this and will continue together in the future. Although this will be just a very short parting, everyone please wait for us and since you guys are of a certain age, as you work, time will pass very fast. So during this time, please save up a lot of money, and use it when FT has our next concert. Hehe. Even so, being able to meet you guys and say my goodbye, I am really thankful. Although the time is really short (for the FM), but I have really enjoyed myself. I promise that I will show you a better image when I return (from the army). So for today, let's greet other enjoyably. We will also be taking a selca together later, please smile as wide as you can and leave a good photo. Do you understand?

JJ: Thank you for coming today and I will play very hard, go well and healthily and also do some upgrade and come back as an even cooler man. Please wait for me and also have some anticipation. I will get going. Ah and it will be on 21st and I will speak to the company for that (gathering) and upload what ever necessary. We will take a photo later, understand? Thank you for coming today!

-END-

Follow Me
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page