top of page

171015 FTISLAND CLUB LIVE Ment Translation

<Song 1: Girls Don't Know>

HK: The distance between us (fans &FTI) is very close today, we can hear your voices very well. So if you guys don't sing well you will get it from me. Let's go.

<Song 2: Wind>

HK: The first song is kinda surprising right? Why are you guys so surprised? Aish. I told them (the company?) yesterday that the mini live that we are having with you guys today, we must do it again this year. How's it? In this kind of venue, after debut, this is the first time right? How do you feel?

JJ: Usually, we only have one major concert a year but this time we are able to meet you guys this way. I feel very excited. It feels like it was back to the times we were newbies. Let's have enjoy and play well today.

HK: Jonghoon-ssi, why is there ketchup stain on your shirt? What is this?

HK: Today.. We had did a song that we didn't sing in a long while. And.. We will also sing two new songs from our latest album. But I'm not sure when we will sing them. If you guys had listened to our album, you will know them and if you didn't, you might no know them. Today, somehow, on those songs that suddenly I feel we should sing together, I will put the mic out. And if, i mean IF, you guys can't sing along, Jaejin-ssi will end work for the day.

JJ: Ah... It's kinda.. If the songs that I wrote and you guys can't sing it, i will feel sad.

HK: Anyways, did you guys listened to the BGM while waiting just now? BGM? Usually, when you go attend a concert, only that person's BGM will appear right? There's also songs that aren't ours right? Actually, we have decided on the songs individually. Jonghoon-ssi what did you chose?

Fans: Cheer Up!

JH: No. TWICE's song is not mine. I don't like TWICE. I chose "Meeting 마중". Firstly, our manager love that song. And, we are Meeting tonight isn't it?

HK: Oh.. So there's such meaning to choosing Meeting?

JH: Yea.. Yea..

MH: I had chosen "Memory". For Memory, it is the first song that we composed both the lyrics and melody after debut but we only get to promote it for 2 weeks. I find that it's a pity. So, no matter where I go, I will always play Memory. That is why I chose it. That's all.

SH: For me, it is a song that I really liked recently. It's Park Won's "All of My Life" <link>

HK: Sing us a small verse. Sing us a small verse.

SH: If that's the case, I'm not really sure of the lyrics but I will try to sing to the feel of it. This isn't something that I had prepared.

/SH starts playing the guitar/

HK: He had prepared! He had prepared!

SH: Ah.. I really like it. I always listened to this when I'm showering after I wake up in the morning.

HK: Seunghyun-ssi, you usually don't wake up in the morning isn't it? When you wake up it will be in the evening isn't it?

SH: It will be 3PM already.. Yea..

HK: Jaejin-ssi what did you chose?

Fans: Cheer Up!

JJ: I did not chose TWICE. It's DNCE's "Toothbrush".

HK: Why did you choose Toothbrush?

JJ: It's not because toothbrush is important. If you see the lyrics you will know. It's about an ambiguous relationship where person A feels that since person B will still return so person A said "you should just leave your toothbrush at my place".

HK: Ah.. That is why there is so many toothbrush at Jaejin's house! I went to Jaejin's place and there is just so many toothbrush!

SH: And why the toothbrushes looked like they have only been used once?

JJ: Everyone, please do not take their jokes for real. It's no no.

HK: In that case, put your hand to your heart and tell us, " In my house I have toothbrush(es) that isn't mine."

JJ: I have. It belongs to my mum. It's my mum's. Ah.. No.. I don't have.

HK: Ah.. So the person came and use the toothbrush and then you threw it away? /trolls/

JJ: Let's just move on.

HK: I'm the one that chose TWICE. It's because as I am doing radio, I find that that song can give you a lot of energy and it is very refreshing. Although this is a concert of a band, that kind of song can be played too isn't it?

SH: Hongki-ssi, since you have recommended TWICE's Cheer Up, is there anyone among the members that is your ideal type?

HK: There isn't.

Fans: Ehhhhhhhhh

SH: Let's say if you have to choose someone among them?

HK: Let's say it this way. I do not have any ideal type. Frankly speaking, I do not have any ideal type in the group but if I have to pick someone from the team, I don't know their names.

Fans: Ehhhhhhhhh

HK: I really don't know their names.

SH: They even appeared on your radio show

HK: Do I have to know everyone that appears on my show?

SH: So who is she?

HK: It will be the young kid with short hair. Chaeyoung?

SH: Ah.. So you like her?

HK: No.. I thought you said I need to choose one among them?

SH: Ahhhh

HK: Everyone.. Today we will sing a lot of songs and do a bit of this and that. Actually, the original plan from the company is to have a Fan Meeting. Isn't that boring? We will just sing a few songs, do a few quizzes and play a few games and that will be the end of it. So we decided to have something in a smaller venue, where we can see you guys up close and sing songs for you all. Thus, we only brought about half of what the setlist from the concert in August.

HK: So let's light up the mood again and jump a bit more. Sing along if you know the songs. If you don't know, I will go home.

/speaker bursted and they were solving the problem/

HK: This is the fun part about live house. This and that might happen, the speaker might burst and sooner or later, my voice will burst too. Recently it's the change of season isn't it? i'm dying from it. When I wake up in the morning, my nose is always THISSSSSSSSS watery. I'm just joking.

/HK playing with the voice changing machine/

HK: It isn't hot today right? It's warm? And when this ends and you exit the venue later you will feel WAHHHHHHH. Really. Isn't the weather getting cold recently? And.. Isn't the ticketing based on first come first serve for fanclub members? Why is there so many foreigners? Where are you from? America! Columbia. Russia. London. And? Istanbul? And where? Chuncheon-dong? New York? Eygpt?! Hongkong! And where else? Thailand. Wow! Many came, really.

JJ: Who's the one from Chuncheon-dong? Oh...

<Song 3: Travel>

JJ: Since it is in a Club...

Fan: There's no alcohol!

JJ: Uh? No alcohol?

HK: Then.. Please bring in some alcohol.

JJ: Did you drink before you came? I'm envious.

HK: Give me alcohol. Recently, if I really feel like drinking something, it will be usually SoMaek (Beer + Soju), about 5 glasses of that. If I drink about that much and go home, I will be able to sleep REALLYYYYYY well. And I will feel really well too.

HK: And now.. We will go according to what the company wishes and do it kinda like a Fan Meeting. We will do it for about 3 minutes, a bit of this and that.

SH: Let's have it this way then.

HK: The concept will be "Time Machine". We will listen to questions from past interviews and answer with what we have said in the interviews back then. Even if it is the same question, depending on the year that we receive the question, our answers will be different too. Like how when we just debuted, I always said that the company is good. Now, each member will post the questions to the other member. We don't know whose questions is with who. So who will start first?

SH: I will start first. It's the Time Machine Question for Jonghoon. Interview from 2012, September 10. Q: FTISLAND is a treasure because of this. JH: "As a leader, I solve problems within the team through ______, ________ and ______. And I think it's sexy. Recently I am putting effort in working out. And through working out, I have learnt a lot that I did not know last time." Jonghoon-ssi just need to fill in the blanks. There is three blanks.

JH: How will I know this?! Is one of the blanks alcohol?

SH: Let me repeat the question again. "As a leader, I solve problems within the team through ______, ________ and ______. And I think it's sexy."

JH: Through dialogue and hongki? Through dialogue and.... Ah.. It's not alcohol.. Is the answer something interesting?

SH: To be frank, it is no where near interesting.

JH: Ah.. Trust? Love? Friendship?

SH: The answer is Dialogue, Love and Affection.

JH: Ah... Yes.....

SH: There's one more question.

JH: Ah.. Yes yes

SH: It was an interview on 2007, June 10 (?)

HK: Oh? This was a day before our debut.

SH: The title of the article is "A Flower Boyband that is equipped with Triple-beat". Here's the question, Why is it a band? With your outstanding good look, won't you be able to rise to success faster as an idol group without those instruments?"

HK: I agree

SH: And this is Jonghoon-ssi's answer. " ______________ and I have been living in the practice room since a young age but I have no regrets." You will need fill in the blank in front.

JH: That's right.. Damn it.

SH: You said something very cool back then. It's not "That's right" or "It's not like that" but a sentence. Should I tell you the answer? The answer is "The music that flow out from my fingertips was really good."

JH: Oh shit... /not sure laughing or crying lol/ from my fingertips... ha ha ha

SH: Jaejin-ssi will ask the next member

JJ: For me.. It will be to Hongki-ssi.

HK: Me?

JJ: It was from a programme in 2008. "There's always fans waiting outside our hostel, resulting in difficulty to leave the house most of the time. On this certain day, Hongki NEEDS to go to the convenience store. What is his reason to visit the convenience store?"

Fan: To buy cigarettes!

JH: /laughing/ to buy cigarettes...

JJ: What? To buy cigarettes? Daeng. No.. I said it's in 2008!

HK: We are still underaged then.

JH: So what's the answer?

JJ: "To grow his height, he drinks milk every day. And just nice, the milk supply in the hostel is finishing. Thus he has to go out and buy it." Why is it that just nice? Do you remember this? Hongki-ssi, seems like you didn't drink enough milk back then.

HK: I really drank a lot of milk back then.

JJ: Then why didn't your height grew?

HK: I really drank a lot of milk and ate a lot of cereal! This is right.. This is right..

SH: Seems like there isn't much effect.

JJ: Okay, let's move on to the next question. Title of the article is "With difficulty, the start of the second act, New history with each album". The question is "For the next 10 years?" Hongki-ssi answered "It might be cliche, but my dream had always to be a band like _________________. I want to be a band that is able to express ourselves in various colours and not only limited to just one genre". Seems like every one know the answer to this.

HK: Fairy Pitta? Chameleon?

JJ: That's right. Chameleon is the answer.

SH: Please raise your hand if you answered Chameleon. There's no prize for this though. Congratulations~

JJ: Let's head to the next set of questions quickly.

MH: For me, it's to Jaejin-hyung. This is the question "What does FTISLAND means to the members?" Other that Jaejin-hyung, the rest of us answered "Fate/Destiny".

JJ: Me?

MH: But Jaejin-hyung answered this. "To be frank, I joined the group because of _________. I do not think that I have outstanding talent. I feel that I can learn the musical portion of it." What is in the blank?

HK: To be frank, I joined the group to be the main vocal.

MH: Main Vocal? Although that's the truth but it's not the answer. Daeng.

JJ: Minhwan-ssi, is it a very touching answer?

MH: If Hongki-hyung heard this, he would say that "This kid is trying to be funny."

HK: To be frank, I joined the group because of my visual? or because of my dark skin tone?

JJ: Aye... that doesn't sounds like a reason

SH: To be frank, I joined the group because I can do better than Lee Hongki?

MH: Ah.. It's not that.

SH: It's not?

HK: Ah.. I know! It's because I am a bassist with flaming fingers.

JJ: AHHHHH Don't say this kind of thing!

MH: The answer.. It's because he came out well on the screen during camera test.

HK: Oh.. I acknowledge that Jaejinnie really look well on screen.

JJ: Back then.. Really.. Do you guys know the tall and fierce lady that appeared in CheongDamDong111? Director Kim Youngsun. You guys know that my sister joined the company first right? Director Kim came to look for me. They wanted to form a band and knew that I have been playing the bass so she came to meet me. When she saw me, her first comment was "He looked shabby but since we are here, would you like to do a camera test?" And when they saw me on the screen, i turn out really well. Thus I joined the company.

SH: So is there any more questions?

MH: Okay.. This is the next question. "What is your most memorable fan?" and his answer is "We often receive very unique presents because of _____________ and ______________."

HK: I think I remembered this. Last time, when we were still newbies, we really received a lot of unique gifts. Back then, we really received lots of ridiculous gifts. For example, the blood of our fans? I can't really say it in details but it's the kind of blood that females will have monthly. And sometimes there's also dolls with our faces but with a sword attached to it(?)

JJ: What is the right answer? It's because my face is very dark?

MH: That is also right but that isn't the answer. Actually, since the answer is really boring. I shall just reveal it. "It's because my nickname is Goat/Sheep, thus I have received a lot of wool/cotton as gifts."

HK: Let's move on to the next person. JH-ssi, please read the questions.

JH: It's an interview in 2009, March 1. Please share your thoughts in receiving new handphones as presents. Minhwan-ssi replied "As I don't usually received phone calls, sometimes I will switch on the phone and use it as my clock. From then onwards, I felt very lonely and left out. But the positive points of having the phone is _____________" You will need to fill in the blank.

HK: From what I see... Once Minhwan-ssi gets a new phone, won't some girl group member be contacting him?

MH: Me? Ha- Ha- Ha -Ha

HK: Okay.. Probably we shouldn't bring this up now. Is it "I won't be bored as I can play games in the waiting room?"

MH: I can't remember the answer.

JJ: "I can use it to contact my parents?"

JH: It's close but that's not the answer.

JJ: It's close?

JH: No.. It's no where near the answer.

HK: Is it an interesting answer?

JH: It's not interesting but it's just an answer that you will hear from Minari.

JJ: You can use it to order fried chicken!

JH: That's incorrect. The answer is.. I am able to fulfil my wish of downloading the colour ringtone of my choice.

JJ: You see... Staff from FNC.. this is totally not interesting at all.

HK: Let me ask some questions that will give us goosebumps for SH-ssi. 2012, July 18. "FTISLAND Comeback. Lee Hongki "Music Charts? Definitely it will be out of Top 100." This is the interview title. It was like that back then, during the PRAY era.

SH: Won't this be a sad story?

HK: "Explain the meaning of Seeking the truth against prejudice and misunderstanding" and SH-ssi answered "Everyone asked, we are able to do music comfortably by just releasing what the public wants, why would we choose the hard way? This makes us wants to break out of the prejudice that others have of us even more. That's why, we would like to tell the others that _________________________." What is it that SH-ssi wants to tell the others?

HK: He said some very cool words that will give us goosebumps when you hear it. For the answer, I will impersonate SH-ssi using the same emotions as he had during the interview. "Everyone asked, we are able to do music comfortably by just releasing what the public wants, why would we choose the hard way? This makes us wants to break out of the prejudice that others have of us even more. That's why, we would like to tell the others that WE ARE GOING IN THE DIRECTION THAT WE WANT TO, DON'T WORRY ABOUT US.

SH: Omg.. this is so embarrassing.

JJ: This is some cool words.

HK: Yes, it's really cool words. JJ-ssi is there questions for the entire group too?

JJ: Should we continue with this?

HK: I'm quite curious about this.

JJ: Okay.. 2009, March 1. During trainee days, there were two things that was forbidden in the hostel. First was to change our phones. The other is? This was something very popular back then. It is as good as our girlfriend.

HK: AH.. Cyworld.. Mini Hompy..

JJ: We were told not to maintain/create a Mini Hompy.

HK: Back then, during middle school, among my friends we were constantly discussing on how to increase our visitors by hundreds daily. And JH is an ulzzang back then. (T/N: ulzzang = best face or good looking) and our ex-member was also constantly boasting about his visitorship back then. We were always arguing on who has more visitors and then Jonghoon came in. So we asked "Ya.. Jonghoon-ah.. What is your mini hompy's visitorship today?" and JH said "I don't really have much.." and we were like "We have quite a number.. tell us how many visitors do you have?" and JH was like "about 2000 - 3000?" and we were like.. GG. The both of us probably have something near 1000.

JH: I had more than 2000 - 3000.

JJ: OHHHHHHHHHHHHH

HK: Ah... It seems like we are the ones that had 2000 - 3000 and he had more than that...

JH: That's right that's right.

HK: and that was the time when our maknae and Jaejin set up their mini hompy too.

JJ: That time we even carefully selected our wallpapers and background music.

MH: I totally cannot remember anything. This was when I was still a baby.

HK: My background music was... What's the name of that guy who plays the piano?

JH: Yiruma

HK: Yes.. Yiruma Yiruma.. My background music was an Yiruma song. JJ-ssi, let's do one more question.

JJ: One more? Okay.. 2007, December 6. Q: What is the music that FTISLAND would like to do? A: We are _____________.

HK: This was in 2007? We are doing what we have been told to do.

SH: We are still growing.

JJ: Back then.. I remember that HK-hyung always say this during interview. When people commented that we are Idol Band, HK-hyung will always say that we are _________.

HK: We are still developing.

JJ: That time.. Hongki-hyung always like to like use wordings like "rainbow" and "chameleon". He loves things that changes colours. He would always say that we are still looking for the colour to our music.

HK: I think I said something like we are still finding the right colour to our music. Something like that.

JJ: HK-ssi. Since 10 years have passed, should we end this corner with your thoughts on if we have found the colour of our music and the direction that we will be moving forward to if we had found the colour to our music?

HK: For me.. I feel that we have been moving in the direction that we wanted. Like a chameleon. Actually, we have also tried releasing albums/songs that matches the seasons. We have a lot of different opportunities to release our music. Though the stronger music has a cooler image, it will be good if we can also release those emotional songs or even songs like Travel which is more light hearted and fluffy. Now we are just left with Hip Hop that have have not touched.

JJ: Hip Hop? You mean we will be doing Hip Hop?

SH: SHOW ME THE JAEJINNNNNNNN!!! BUVVVV BUVVVV BUVVVV BUVVVV~~

HK: For us, we are creating the colours that we wanted for our music really well. We hope that the music industry can be more dynamic and the public can also listen and enjoy these music with stronger images more frequently. It's a pity that we still need to work hard to break the prejudice of the public regarding this but we are moving in the right direction. Now, let's sing more songs.

<Song 4: Puppy>

<Song 5: Champagne>

HK: Okay.. Let's go fucking crazy.

<Song 6: The Night>

HK: Did the atmosphere gets better? It's hard to play in such a small space like this right? But you still have to play with us.. You get what I mean? You get what I mean? We should play coolly in Hongdae!

HK: The atmosphere will get worse now.. Are you ready to get all angst with us? The upcoming songs will be more rock and there will be a song from our latest album too. Should I give you a hint? "This is parade parade parade parade. It's my party party party party." Are you ready? But it's not this song now.

<Song 7: Pray>

<Song 8: I Want>

<Song 9: Parade>

<Song 10: Where's the Truth>

[Encore]

HK: Originally, it's not like this. There is no encore as it is getting late. Thank you for coming today to the mini Live. Being able to see you guys up close, it is really good and interesting. And also.. so many people came to meet us here, we are really happy. To be frank, when we were younger, and more popular, we performed at those large venues where a lot of people came to watch & support us. We were not able to forget that and there's a lot of people who wants us to do that again. But we don't really have the greed for those huge venues again. We feel that, to meet you guys in smaller venues like this, where we can be closer with each other, and perform our songs with you guys, the feeling is really great. We are considering to do more of these mini lives as compared to the major concerts. As compared to Live House like this, Mini Theatres have a different atmosphere too isn't it? Everyone will be seated and we can perform our songs to all the audiences. We would like to try creating that kind of stage too. Anyway, thank you everyone. Although this venue is small, I heard that it can take up to 700 - 800 pax. We are very thankful that you guys packed this venue up so well. You guys should help us too, promote our music to the friends around you and let them listen to our music too. Members, each say some words too.

SH: We did a mini live like this in Octagon previously too right?

HK: SH-ssi aren't you very badly drunk back then?

SH: Was I very drunk? I was kinda tipsy but we had a lot of good memories about the live back then.

Fans were commenting that there's no alcohol this time.

SH: You guys are more interested in alcohol that our performance right? I'm talking about our performance and you keep mentioning alcohol. Thank you everyone for coming today. I hope that we will be able to do this kind of mini live again soon. Thank you everyone.

MH: Firstly, our schedules for this year seems to have come to an end. Other than the Europe tour, we do not have much scheduled in Korea. But it is really great that we are able to meet you guys today and have such a mini live performance. The atmosphere is really good here, but it will be cold when you head outside after the concert ends. Please be careful not to catch a cold. It will be good if you can be careful when you head home.

JH: Minhwan-ssi, talking about health is good but aren't you in a relationship now?

MH: Yes.. yes..

JH: How's it?

MH: What do you mean by how's it? JJ-ssi please say something.

JJ: Today it feels like it's a pity that the mini live is kinda short. Next time, we will create more opportunities to have lives like this. It will be good if you guys can come and support us when the time comes too. I hope that you guys can remember the memories of the live today and come play with us again the next time.

JH: It has been quite a while since we are able to meet you guys like this. Every one of you here, every single one here is so pretty tonight. You guys have really good make up skills. We won't be able to think of this last time, but each and every one of you is really beautiful. I usually don't say this kind of ment. Next week, we will be going to Europe for our tour and we will take care of our health and be back soon. Every one please continue to support us in Korea. We have really packed schedules for the 11 days in Europe and I'm really worried about our condition. But we will take good care of ourselves and complete the schedules without falling sick. Thank you everyone for coming to Hongdae for our mini live. THANK YOU.

HK: For the lasty song, you guys are free to take photos/videos. Let's do the last song. Please on your flashlight.

<Encore Song: To the Light>

Follow Me
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page